Denton County Republican Volunteers Honored


Contact Jayne Howell at

Denton County Republican Volunteers Honored

The Denton County Republican Party honored its activists from around the county Thursday at its annual Volunteer Dinner.

Kronda Thimesh, precinct chair in Castle Hills, received the coveted Precinct Chair of the Year Award, originated in 1998 to recognize the Denton County Republican Precinct Chair who has fulfilled his/her responsibilities in an exemplary manner. In presenting the award to Thimesh, Camille Johnson and Sylvia Acuff, previous recipients of the award, praised Kronda for her personal contact with her constituents and for her faithful involvement in outreach within her community.

The prestigious Chairman’s Award went to Jim Johnson of Plano, the Party’s Vice Chair of Finance.  Johnson has helped build the Denton County Republican Party in many outstanding ways, according to Chairman Jayne Howell, who presented the award. His service as a Party officer and dedicated activist has been invaluable to the Party, she said.

The DCRP’s highest award, that of Outstanding Volunteer, was jointly presented by Margaret Barnes and Debbie Terry, previous recipients of the award. The award went to Camille Johnson of Carrollton in recognition of her years of unselfish volunteerism at many Republican Party activities, Republican campaigns, club events, and within community organizations in numerous ways.

GOP clubs from across the county recognized their Outstanding Members. Those honorees included: Bill Lawrence of Highland Village (Denton County Republican Assembly); Carol Ryan of Denton (Denton Republican Women’s Club); Chris Betts (Denton County Young Republicans); Bill Wetherbee of Lantana (Flower Mound Area Republican Club); Kelly Sayre of Corinth (Ladies of Liberty Republican Club); Virginia Haughton of Providence Village (Lakeside Republican Club); Roy Winegar of The Colony (Legacy Republican Club); Katherine Sells of Castle Hills (Republican Women of Denton, Collin, Dallas Counties); Sharon Pryor of Frisco (STAR Republicans of Denton and Collin Counties) and Jeanne DeArment of Denton (Texas Strong Republican Women).

State Senator Jane Nelson acted as Mistress of Ceremonies for the evening.  Texas Republican Party Chairman James Dickey gave the keynote address.  Over 200 people from across North Texas attended the event, according to Chairman Jayne Howell, which was very successful in achieving its dual goals of honoring the Party’s dedicated activists and giving all who attended a truly delightful evening.


About Author

Connect with Me: